Peter Salovey ’86 Ph.D.

Chris Argyris Professor of Psychology

Peter Salovey is the twenty-third president of Yale University and the Chris Argyris Professor of Psychology. Since becoming president in July 2013, he has led the development of new programs and facilities, strengthened partnerships worldwide, increased access to a Yale College education, and enhanced interdisciplinary collaboration and entrepreneurial opportunity for faculty and students. Other leadership roles at Yale included serving as chair of the Department of Psychology (2000 to 2003); dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (2003 to 2004); dean of Yale College (2004 to 2008); and provost (2008 to 2013).

President Salovey earned a Ph.D. (psychology) at Yale in 1986. He has authored or edited over a dozen books translated into eleven languages and published hundreds of journal articles and essays in social psychology. With John D. Mayer, he developed a broad framework called “emotional intelligence.” In addition to teaching and mentoring scores of graduate students, President Salovey has won both the William Clyde DeVane Medal for Distinguished Scholarship and Teaching in Yale College and the Lex Hixon ’63 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences. In 2013, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and National Academy of Medicine.